AMR Surveillance using Innovative Sampling

Un projet JPIAMR qui vise à développer une stratégie de surveillance de la résistance aux antimicrobiens (RAM) dans un contexte de santé unique, et applicable dans les pays à revenu élevé, intermédiaire et à faible revenu.

OASIS passe de l'estimation conventionnelle de la prévalence de la RAM à la classification des populations / milieux comme une prévalence de la RAM “élevée” ou “faible”, en appliquant une approche Lot Quality Assurance Samplong.

Coordination: Amsterdam Institute for Global Health and Development

Renseignements sur le projet

OASIS vise à développer une stratégie de surveillance de la résistance aux antimicrobiens (RAM) dans un contexte de santé unique, et applicable dans les pays à revenu élevé, intermédiaire ou faible. La stratégie proposée remet en cause la forte dépendance à l'égard de la surveillance de la RAM en laboratoire pour atteindre les objectifs du Global Action Plan on AMR .

L'utilisation inappropriée d'antibiotiques est un facteur clé de la RAM. Les programmes de gestion des antimicrobiens visent à réduire l'utilisation inappropriée en encourageant la prescription de médicaments antimicrobiens fondée sur des données probantes. La connaissance de la prévalence de la RAM est au cœur de cette base de données probantes, et donc pour la conception et la mise en programmes d'intendance des antimicrobiens. Les estimations de la prévalence de la RAM dans les domaines humain et vétérinaire souffrent des mêmes inconvénients: biais de sélection dans les isolats soumis aux tests de sensibilité aux antibiotiques et absence d'informations pertinentes localement en raison de données agrégées au niveau (infra) national. La base de preuves requise nécessite des enquêtes de prévalence de la RAM basées sur la population. Cependant, les enquêtes conventionnelles prennent du temps, coûtent cher et empêchent d'identifier les variations locales de la prévalence de la RAM, compte tenu des limites de la taille de l'échantillon.

OASIS passe de l'estimation conventionnelle de la prévalence de la RAM à la classification des populations / milieux comme une prévalence de la RAM “élevée” ou “faible”, en appliquant une approche Lot Quality Assurance Sampling (LQAS). Cela nécessite beaucoup des échantillons plus petits et est idéalement placé pour la surveillance de la RAM basée sur la population.

Le projet valide pour la première fois l'approche de surveillance de la RAM basée sur le LQAS par rapport aux enquêtes conventionnelles de prévalence de la RAM dans le domaine vétérinaire. Il fournit en outre la preuve que l'agrégation des résultats LQAS (qui sont des classifications de la prévalence de la RAM “élevée” ou “faible”), peut servir d'estimation valide des résultats des enquêtes conventionnelles de prévalence de la RAM (qui sont des estimations de la prévalence). C'est surtout cette dernière étape de validation qui fera de la surveillance de la RAM basée sur LQAS une stratégie attrayante pour la profession de la santé et les décideurs politiques, car les résultats basés sur LQAS fournissent les preuves locales requises pour un traitement antimicrobien empirique approprié, tandis que l'agrégation de ces résultats Dans une estimation conventionnelle de la prévalence de la RAM, les décideurs disposent d'un outil pour mesurer l'impact des interventions visant à réduire la prévalence de la RAM aux niveaux du district, régional ou national.

Le volet de recherche sur la mise en œuvre d'Oasis fait participer les parties prenantes spécifiques au domaine tout au long du projet pour optimiser l'utilisation des connaissances et faciliter la traduction des résultats en politiques.

Rencontrer l'équipe

des Chercheurs

Avatar

Abdoul-Salam Ouedraogo

Associate Professor of Medicine

Avatar

Christian Berens

Head of Pathogenomic Workgoup

Avatar

Christa Ewers

Professor of Infectious Diseases

Avatar

Christian Menge

Professor of Microbiology and Immunology

Avatar

Chris Pell

Social Scientist

Avatar

Constance Schultsz

Professor of Global Health

Avatar

François-Xavier Babin

Director of Diagnostics and Health Systems

Avatar

Frank van Leth

Associate Professor of Global Health Coordinator

Avatar

Hubert Endtz

Professor of Infectious Diseases

Avatar

Laurent Raskine

Medical Microbiologist

Avatar

Mounerou Salou

Associate Professor of Bacteriology-Virology

Avatar

Timo Homeier-Bachmann

Scientific head of the German animal disease notification system

Chefs de projet

Avatar

Natacha Berber

Project Manager

Avatar

Juliane Gebelin

Project Manager

Avatar

Giulia Scirocco

Partnership Manager at FMX

Domaines

Humain

RAM chez les patients suspectés d'infections des voies urinaires

Vétérinaire

RAM chez les porcs et les poulets de chair arrivant à l'abattoir

La mise en oeuvre

Études en sciences sociales sur la surveillance de la RAM basée sur LQAS

LQAS

Lot quality Assurance Sampling (LQAS) est une approche dérivée de l'industrie, où il est utilisé pour une évaluation rapide de la qualité des marchandises dans un lot spécifié. La méthodologie a fait son chemin dans le domaine de la santé publique en tant qu'outil d'évaluation rapide dans l'évaluation de programme, par exemple la couverture vaccinale.

Le processus comprend plusieurs étapes décrites dans la figure ci-dessous

  1. supprimer une population d'intérêt, par exemple un district ou un établissement de santé (lot)
  2. tirer un échantillon aléatoire d'éléments de cette population (sample)
  3. évaluer le résultat d'intérêt pour chacun de ces éléments
  4. classer la population comme ayant une prévalence du résultat inférieure ou supérieure à un seuil prédéfini (decision rule)
LQAS process (copyright: FvL 2019).

Dans le domaine de la résistance aux antimicrobiens, le résultat fait référence à la prévalence de micro-organismes résistants à un antibiotique donné. Le seuil se réfère à la prévalence maximale acceptable de résistance pour un antibiotique pouvant encore être administré comme traitement empirique. La réussite ou non du seuil dépend de la règle de décision utilisée qui est définie par rapport aux paramètres statistiques.

La publication originale (1929) se trouve ici.

Une description directement accessible (1988) peut être trouvée ici.

La publication de nos travaux antérieurs qui ont déclenché le développement d'OASIS peut être trouvée ici

Messages récents

Et c'est parti......

Lancer un projet passionnant.

Publications récentes

Repenser la surveillance de la résistance aux antimicrobiens: un rôle pour Lot Quality Assurance Sampling.

Ceci est notre publication sur la faisabilité du LQAS pour la surveillance de la RAM. Les résultats de cette étude réalisée en …

Bailleurs de fonds

OASIS est financé dans le cadre du 9e appel (diagnostic et surveillance) de la Joint Programming Initiative on Antimicrobial Resistance ( JPIAMR ), établie par la Commission européenne. JPIAMR est une plate-forme collaborative mondiale et a engagé 28 pays pour lutter contre la résistance aux antibiotiques (RAM) avec une approche One Health. L'initiative coordonne le financement national pour soutenir la recherche et les activités transnationales dans les six domaines prioritaires de l'agenda stratégique commun de recherche et d'innovation JPIAMR - thérapeutique, diagnostic, surveillance, transmission, environnement et interventions..

Les agences nationales de financement suivantes participent au projet OASIS:

Contact

AMR Surveillance using Innovative Sampling

A JPIAMR project aiming to develop an antimicrobial resistance (AMR) surveillance strategy in a One Health context, which is applicable in high-, middle-, and low-income countries.

OASIS moves from conventionally estimating AMR prevalence to classifying populations/settings as having a “high” or “low” AMR prevalence, by applying a Lot Quality Assurance Sampling approach.

Coordination: Amsterdam Institute for Global Health and Development

Project information

OASIS aims to develop an antimicrobial resistance (AMR) surveillance strategy in a One Health context, and applicable in high-, middle-, and low-income countries. The proposed strategy challenges the strong reliance on laboratory-based AMR surveillance for meeting objectives of the Global Action Plan on AMR .

Inappropriate use of antibiotics is a key driver for AMR. Antimicrobial stewardship programmes aim at reducing inappropriate use by promoting evidence-based prescribing of antimicrobial drugs. Knowledge of the prevalence of AMR is central to this evidence base, and therefore for the design and implementation of antimicrobial stewardship programmes. The AMR prevalence estimates in the human and veterinary domains suffer from the same drawbacks: selection bias in isolates submitted for antibiotic susceptibility testing, and absence of locally-relevant information due to aggregated data on (sub-)national level. The required evidence base needs population-based AMR prevalence surveys. However, conventional surveys are time consuming, expensive, and preclude the identification of local variations in AMR prevalence, given the limitations in sample size.

OASIS moves from conventionally estimating AMR prevalence to classifying populations/settings as having a “high” or “low” AMR prevalence, by applying a Lot Quality Assurance Sampling (LQAS) approach. This requires much smaller sample sizes, and is uniquely positioned for population-based AMR surveillance.

The project validates the LQAS-based AMR surveillance approach against conventional AMR prevalence surveys in the veterinary domain for the first time. It additionally provides the evidence that aggregation of LQAS results (which are classifications of “high” or “low” AMR prevalence), can serve as a valid estimate of conventional AMR prevalence survey results (which are prevalence estimations). It is especially this latter validation step that will make LQAS-based AMR surveillance an attractive strategy for the health profession and policy makers alike, as the LQAS-based results provide the required local evidence for appropriate empirical antimicrobial treatment, while the aggregation of these results in a conventional AMR prevalence estimate provides policy makers with a tool for measuring the impact of interventions that are aimed at reducing AMR prevalence at district, regional, or national levels.

OASIS’ implementation research component engages domain-specific stakeholders throughout the project to optimise knowledge utilisation, and facilitate the translation of results into policy.

Meet the Team

Researchers

Avatar

Abdoul-Salam Ouedraogo

Associate Professor of Medicine

Avatar

Christian Berens

Head of Pathogenomic Workgoup

Avatar

Christa Ewers

Professor of Infectious Diseases

Avatar

Christian Menge

Professor of Microbiology and Immunology

Avatar

Chris Pell

Social Scientist

Avatar

Constance Schultsz

Professor of Global Health

Avatar

François-Xavier Babin

Director of Diagnostics and Health Systems

Avatar

Frank van Leth

Associate Professor of Global Health Coordinator

Avatar

Hubert Endtz

Professor of Infectious Diseases

Avatar

Laurent Raskine

Medical Microbiologist

Avatar

Mounerou Salou

Associate Professor of Bacteriology-Virology

Avatar

Timo Homeier-Bachmann

Scientific head of the German animal disease notification system

Project Managers

Avatar

Natacha Berber

Project Manager

Avatar

Juliane Gebelin

Project Manager

Avatar

Giulia Scirocco

Partnership Manager at FMX

Domains

Human

AMR in patients suspected of urinary tract infections

Veterinary

AMR in pigs and broiler chickens arriving in slaughterhouses

Implementation

Social science studies on LQAS-based AMR surveillance

LQAS

Lot quality Assurance Sampling (LQAS) is an approach that derives from industry, where it is used for a rapid assessment of the quality of goods within a specified batch. The methodology has made its way into the field of Public Health as a rapid assessment tool in program evaluation, e.g vaccination coverage.

The process involves several steps which are depicted in the Figure below

  1. deliminate a population of interest, e.g district or health facility (lot)
  2. draw a random sample of elements from this population (sample)
  3. assess the outcome of interest for each of these elements
  4. classify the population as having a prevalence of the outcome below or above a pre-specified threshold (decision rule)
LQAS process (copyright: FvL 2019).

Within the field of antimicrobial resistance, the outcome refers to the prevelence of micro-organisms resistant for a given antibiotic. The threshold refers to the maximum acceptable prevalence of resistance for an antibiotic still being able to be given as empirical treatment. Whether or not the threshold has been passed is dependent on the used decision rule that is defined with respect to statistical parameters.

The original publication (1929) can be found here.

A directly accessible description (1988) can found here.

The publication of our earlier work that sparked the development of OASIS can be found here

Recent Posts

Here we go......

Kicking-off an exciting project.

Recent Publications

Rethinking Antimicrobial Resistance Surveillance: A Role for Lot Quality Assurance Sampling.

This is our publication on the feasibility of LQAS for AMR surveillance. The results of this study performed in Indonesia sparked the …

Funders

OASIS is funded in the 9th call (diagnositc and surveillance) of the Joint Programming Initiative on Antimicrobial Resistance ( JPIAMR ), established by the European Commision. JPIAMR is a global collaborative platform and has engaged 28 nations to curb antibiotic resistance (AMR) with a One Health approach. The initiative coordinates national funding to support transnational research and activities within the six priority areas of the shared JPIAMR Strategic Research and Innovation Agenda – therapeutics, diagnostics, surveillance, transmission, environment and interventions.

The following national funding agencies participate in the OASIS project:

Contact